Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • No fault insurance effect on car insurance
  • poolman
    Free Member

Last week my car was written off by a van who just shot out of a side road into us. Police came and van driver admitted he was not looking. My ins co confirm it is now a fully settled no fault claim.

I am a named driver on my brothers policy, the car is in his name.

So do i have to declare this for x years as a no fault settled claim?

Will my brother get an insurance increase because it is in his name?

I am sure I read on here that any future insurance cost uplift can be reclaimed to the van driver.

Thanks in advance, much appreciated.

njee20
    Free Member

So you were driving, as a named driver, on his insurance, in his car?

So do i have to declare this for x years as a no fault settled claim?

If you were driving then yes, you do.

If you keep insuring in the same way (with you as a named driver) then yes. If he now tells you to sod off and get your own insurance then probably not.

I am sure I read on here that any future insurance cost uplift can be reclaimed to the van driver.

Pass, that’s a new one on me.

Rockhopper
    Free Member

Lets hope you are not actually the main driver your of your car which for insurance purposes your brother appears to own.

hypnonewt
    Free Member

My experience with a no fault claim (person wrote of my car while it was parked outside my house) is insurance will go up just because you have had a crash, they dont care whether you were in the vehicle or not.

IdleJon

If you keep insuring in the same way (with you as a named driver) then yes. If he now tells you to sod off and get your own insurance then probably not.

Yes, his premium will increase with most insurers. (I worked in a big insurance co for too long – can’t remember how we’d justify that, I’ve blocked it out! Essentially it’s tough, that’s the risk he took when he insured the car in that way. Or something.)