Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Newbie saying hello / Shimano brake issue
  • stubobby
    Free Member

Hi guys – newbie here to say hi and hopefully get some advice on disc brakes I am having some issues with……

Biked when I was younger – but work/life/kids etc etc got in way – based in Glasgow… engineer/motorcyclist/dad of 2/car nut….

In 2017 I got myself an Orbea Alma H10 27.5 2017. Unfortunately due to foot injury the bike saw little use with very little miles covered.

Link here –
    https://www.tredz.co.uk/.Orbea-Alma-H10-27-5-Mountain-Bike-2017-Hardtail-MTB_95387.htm

Bakes Shimano M506/BR-M4447

I recently noticed that the rear brake was squeaking very loudly and despite taking it to a shop to be serviced with “I think there is a small oil leak” I was told that it was just road contamination, I went out after service and the disc was greasy and the VERY LOUD noise returned almost immediately. So I am concluding there is a leak……

So I was hoping someone could advise on the best course of action.

I believe it can only be the piston seal or the banjo bolt? Can either of these issues be repaired and if so what’s the reliability of the repair. Are these calipers known to have issues? Should I plumb for a straight replacement, and if so do I do the calipers or the lever and caliper as I note they come ready bled. Also what other considerations do I need to think about – rotor size/fitment/caliper mounting etc etc etc….

Please forgive me naivety but this world is all new to me. I have previously rebuilt motorbike calipers and can service and work on cars – so am sure am capable – but the options with regards MTBs brakes is just overwhelming me a little…..

Thanks so much

joemmo
    Free Member

Hello and welcome.
    It could be a few things: misaligned calipers, contaminated pads or disc so hard to pin down without seeing it.