Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Newbie Bike advice- Hampshire area
  • D28boy
    Free Member

Hi Folks,

this is my first post. I'm a newbie living in Hampshire who'd like some advice. I'm looking for my first bike & have my eye on the Giant Talon 2.5. I used to be a keen club runner who has had to stop due to osteo athritis in the hip so have taken to the moutain bike instead.Any advice on bikes & basic kit would be appreciated. Plan to do both road & off road biking & perhaps taking the bike to tracks in the locality by car.

farmer-giles
    Free Member

hi d28,
    where abouts in hamshire are you?
    someone local will be able to recommend a good local bike shop that you can test bikes and get good fitting advice.

happy riding

D28boy
    Free Member

near Basingstoke

MulletusMaximus
    Free Member

If you're the Andover side then there's a Giant dealer their. They also have a club which do beginers rides every monday night. A nice friendly shop with plenty of bikes within the Talon price range. They're also a Cube and Specialized dealer. HTH.

D28boy
    Free Member

thanx Maximus. What's the shop called…also be interested in the beginners rides as well

MulletusMaximus
    Free Member
    cinnamon_girl

I would highly recommend Mountain Trax in Wokingham. They are a Giant dealer, as well as many others, and have a huge range of demo bikes.

Would recommend checking out the HCC website as they have some routes you can download. Don't rely on waymarking though! I have a pretty good knowledge of Hampshire trails so feel free to post up any questions. If you have a GPS and mapping software then can send you some gpx files.

Please also see my thread for Hampshire and Surrey riders. 🙂

dobo
    Free Member

you could try pedalon in tadley, they do cyclocross bikes if you like on and off road at speed and giant, trek etc

make sure you get a helmet that fits, but dont worry about kit much, just get out and ride

Netdonkey