Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • New job dilemma
  • ds3000
    Free Member

I’ll try to explain my dilemma without waffling on.

I am a nurse, I currently have a job working in a group home for adults with developmental disabilities. I like the job, it pays enough, it’s not stressful at all, however it’s mainly admin with limited contact, thus is only moderatly satisfying. Hours are flexible, 8 per day monday to friday.

I have been offered a job in a really good hospital, it would be extremely busy and stressful but very satisfying, career-wise it’d be amazing and would set me up for further study/progression. I’d get paid a bit more. I’d do 3 12 hour shifts per week 7-7.

We have our first baby due any day now; I’m thinking stress/lack of sleep/ect.

Do I stay where I am now (cosy job), or take a chance on a potentially stressful but rewarding new position.

Any advice, particulary from parents of babies, would be greatly appreciated.

Grimy
    Free Member

I’d go for the hospital job. Those 12 hours will fly by in an intresting busy job and then youll have 4 days a week at home with your baby. Your current cushy job is too easy and youll stagnate, get bored, resent it and time will crawl by. You already know the answer 😉

stumpyjon

I’m thinking more money and more time with the family plus opportunities in the future. You’ll kick yourself if you don’t.

Yes it’ll be hard but opportunities don’t fall in your lap when you want them to, got to embrace them when they happen.

Kryton57

Albeit a different profession, I’ve made the move your are suggesting within the last month. What grimy said is remarkably accurate and exactly right. For the first time in several years my brain is tired for all the right reasons and I’m not waking up wondering if I can be bothered turning up at the office.

Do it.

br
    Free Member

Stay in the job you know while you get use to a new baby, plus if you need time off etc – always easier from a place you know.