• This topic has 21 replies, 17 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by STATO.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • My perfect commuter: moon on stick content
  • anotherdeadhero
    Free Member

So, after 20 years commuting by bike, I’ve been driving to work every day for the past 9 months (mainly because lazy, but also I got fed up with people attempting to kill me).

Sitting in the car, then sitting down at work, then sitting in the car again, before sitting on my sofa all evening, then lying in bed all night is not making me very happy. Also fat, very fat and slow and ugh.

I go hill walking a bit, but my attempts to take up swimming for fitness dwindled to nothing in short order, it just isn’t as convenient as cycle commuting. I can’t run, buggered knees and ankles just won’t take it.

So back to cycle commuting.

I’m wondering if spunking a load of cash on a new bike would force me to make use of it, and hence get back into the swing of it again.

But I can’t really seem to find what I’m looking for. Any help/pointers gratefully received.

Minimum spec I’m after would be:
    Carbon frame and fork
    Horizontal (or near horizontal) top tube
    Trad geo: I do NOT want ‘sportif/urban/comfort’ slack angles
    Hydraulic discs
    Drops, obvs
    Mudguard mounts
    Rack mounts
    Cartridge bearing hubs
    Tubeless
    Triple (or v reluctantly, a compact)
    Close-ratio cassette

Basically, a fast road bike with practicalities.

Quite happy to build it from bits.

(I have a (now tatty and shagged out) Uncle John with BB7s, kinesis carbon fork, hope Pro3 on open Pro CD’s, running 28c rubber. I never got on with the BB7’s as much as the evangelists. Constant niggles. Bearing slop in the Pro3 front hub irritated me too)

brakes
    Free Member

when I looked last year, there weren’t many (if any) carbon disc frames with mudguard / rack mounts.

wors

Genesis Datum is probably as close as you’ll get.

ton

ribble cgr.

bmc roadmachine

prawny