MS Office Install

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • MS Office Install
  • Premier Icon cb
    Subscriber

Upgraded the OS on my macbook and Office appears to have been affected – evrything takes for ever to open, especially files from emails. Office is a 2016 version so I thought all would be fine.

Thinking of getting 365 and just wondered if I have to uninstall the current Office beforehand or will the new stuff overwrite the old automatically?

if the former, better to uninstall first I guess?

P-Jay

Short answer is uninstall and reinstall.

Longer answer is that ‘Office 365’ as it’s now called was called Office 2019 for a while, it’s all horribly and probably pointlessly complex but they’re all slightly different even if it’s functionally the same and you can’t ‘upgrade’ versions, even of the same year.

P-Jay

Saying that, whilst I’ve no experience of using a Mac, I wouldn’t expect Office 2019 / 365 to work any better than 2016.

Premier Icon nixie
    Subscriber

Strangely o365 reports as v16 sometimes. Definitely uninstall first though. Had loads of pain when I skipped this step!

footflaps

Isn’t O365 a web based version but it lets you download whatever is the latest disc based version (office 2019 now I guess)?

I’m still using 2010 as it runs faster….

Premier Icon nixie
    Subscriber

The installed version of O365 reports itself as O365 on launch and will only work when you have a valid O365 subscription.

Premier Icon deadkenny
    Subscriber

On Windows, I’ve installed Office 2019 with key from my MS partner account and apps start up saying ‘2019’, but then I logged into them with my Office 365 account and they start up saying ‘Office 365’ now.

In short, they’re the same wherever you install from, just they adopt the licence based on the account signed in as or fall back to a product key if present. At least on Windows. If you installed from O365 you should still be able to enter a product key somewhere. Usually buried away.