Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Motorbike Commuters
  • bwfc4eva868
    Free Member

I’ve been riding motorbikes for 10 years now and have a various bikes since I past my test 7 years ago. But every year I have a niggling feeling I should go back to cars. ( Licence Revoked) is it really worth giving my motorbike up to get a car, I can’t have both. And after my initial confidence knock after breaking my leg back in Feb, I feel I have learnt from it and my riding has improved.

My commute is 17.2 miles from Darwen to Preston mostly motorway and costs me about 25 quid a week in petrol, insurance is £150 a year tax is £70 a year and parking is free. Now my only problems are the snow and ice days. Which means a £30 taxi journey or trying to get a lift. Is it really worth me paying £1200 a year to insure a car which is the same economy as my 600cc Suzuki and I have to get a £30 a month car parking permit.

Plus I need to spend money retaking my driving test. When I’m on my bike I really don’t want to get rid.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

No. It’s not worth it. Stick with the bike.
    It’s faster and cheaper.

It would drive me insane to have to commute by car.

I use a Piaggio X10 scooter which has massive amounts of luggage space, a big fairing, ABS and traction control, and heated grips. It’s under £100 to insure, £40ish to tax and £100 for a pair of tyres. It does a true 75mpg at least and is also the best 2-up bike I’ve ever ridden. Fully auto so it’s a dream in traffic and easily enough umph from 350cc to pass any car.

anagallis_arvensis

I get these feelings from time to time. I’m a dad I need to be safe a car would be safer blah blah blah…… they soon pass.

bwfc4eva868
    Free Member

How do you get on in winter? I’m scared of dropping mine.

anagallis_arvensis

I go slow, have dropped it on ice at walking pace though, it improves my bikes looks tbh. If its obviously bad I I take the bicycle in the car to the mrs work.

MrSparkle