Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Moral Dilemma/ Whistle Blowing
  • donkeysled

Lets say I’m a plumber, for arguments sake. I am installing nice, fit for purpose bathrooms across government sites over multiple months, long contract.
    Before we have even finished the contract we have now been told that all of the bathrooms we have installed are being ripped out and upgraded.
    The people running the contract ( government) knew full well that they were going to install all of these then upgrade afterwards.
    Complete and utter waste of taxpayers money.
    I am earning ( self employed contractor) and the companies that I am working for are obviously making money but I feel that any work I do now is just going to be ripped out so why have pride in what I am doing, and I feel bloody angry that this is going on.
    I feel like saying I don’t want to be involved in the government sites but times are tough ( obviously) and I cant afford to lose thousands in pay over the next few months.
    If I complain to someone in the government I will most certainly blow my cover because it will be obvious what contract I am involved in and most likely lose my position contracting for this particular company.
    The PAYE ( fully employed) staff I’m working with have made their feelings known to those up above but have been told to just basically get on with it.

I’m ultimately being given this work by the government and making a nice few quid, which I cant afford to turn down, but it just feels wrong that they are fitting this stuff knowing full well its being ripped out to just do it twice.

Am I being naïve? Is this just the way of the world? Is this just the tip of the iceberg?

tjagain

some will be taking bungs for that my guess so yes – blow it wide open

I speak as a victim from the council scamming folk doing unneeded work under stat notice

doomanic

I need a new bathroom, you’re not in the West Midlands are you?