Mega 2014

Home Forum Bike Forum Mega 2014

Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 54 total)
  • Mega 2014
  • andrewh

So, I’ve never done this before and have no idea what I’m doing but it does look a lot of fun.
    I beleive that the entries open in January? Anyone know exactly when? Ia it the kind of thing we need to sit poised over our keyboards for as it sells out in 3 seconds flat or is it a little more calm than that?
    Are the practice sessions a free for all, as many goes as we like over the bits we need to do or is it all organised, maybe even timed, runs down the course? Do the lift passes cover as much practice as you need or only a certain number?
    I’m a reasonable endurance XC racer so pretty confident fitness wise, but probably lacking in the technical department, is worth getting Jedi-ed before I go? Heard good things about him on here, would his teaching help with this kind of thing?
    Is body armour and a full face pretty much obligitory? Or does one tend to overheat in a full-face in a race that long?
    I’m intending to drive over and camp in my van at the venue. Is this a good idea?
    In a flurry of excitement I’ve gone out and bought a new (to me) bike already, 2008 Kona Stinky and Marzochi 66s. Good choice? Minions OK on snow?
    Any other advice for a novice much appreciated.
    Thanks.

Hob Nob

You don’t have to enter on the day entries go live. I think there is a bit of an urban myth about the earlier you enter the further up the grid you get in your qualifying race. The first 10 or so are seeded proeprly, the next 10 or so are seeded on a free for all, then it’s pretty much pot luck where you start.

You can practice as much as you want, both the qualifier & main race. When you enter, you buy a list pass that relates to the number of days. simples.