• This topic has 13 replies, 10 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by jedi.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Mcleods – Good? Other good tools for trail building?
  • lyons
    Free Member

Has anyone used one of THESE?

I seem to remember that they are popular over the pond. I'm not sure if i think they look good or not though…

I'm getting something similar to THIS this made for me… but with a metal handle and heavier duty so we can use it to whack down jumps etc. Any other good ideas?

Cheers, Andy

stevenmenmuir
    Free Member

We use them at Glentress, although I'm not a fan they are ok in a multi purpose way. I'm a gardener by trade so it may just be that I like to use my own tools, spade, rake etc. Mattock are very handy , depends on the kind of soil you have. McLeod will be more useful on lighter soils. Also we use a whacker plate for firming stuff up.

lyons
    Free Member

ok, well, we're building dirt jumps, rather than glentress type of stuff. We allready have mattacks, picks, shovels etc. A friend brought a plastic snow shovel up, and it was excellent whilst it lasted… But it broke really quickly… the soil near me is topsoil, then about 1.5 foot down, it turns to clay, then a few feet more and it starts to get very flinty…

What do you use the mcleods for?

stills8tannorm
    Free Member

I use a mattock a lot when building stuff here … we've a lot of gravel in the soil and I find it much easier/quicker than a spade. Good on roots too if you need to clear any. Whackers are worth their weight in gold too if you're building a lot but I recall mine was over £300 and that was a cheap one.

Stuart

Trekster

I know the man who makes the Stanes ones.

If you know or have a welder all you need is a good quality spade, a grinde and hey presto 1 McLeod.
    Cut the shaft fron the spade, shape spade to same as picture and weld shaft to re-shaped spade, buy long shaft, seeemples as the meerkat says.