Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 94 total)
  • MBR – declining sales
  • large418
    Free Member

I’ve been subscribing to MBR for about 12 years, and up to about 3 years ago it had around 32000 sales per month. It’s now down at 21000. Now, I don’t believe mtb ing has become less popular, so is the mag losing its way, or are there other things to read? I have to say it feels like there is less of interest in it for me, as I don’t need a 150mm short travel all mountain trail rig, but a third of its readers can’t feel the same way can they?

What’s a break even sales number for a mag like that?

johnnystorm

It’s the web innit?

Why pay a fiver for a mag comprising 50% advertising when you can go on the web and learn from experts there. 😉

No need to wait a month for what was at Interbike, see it live on twitter/facebook/blog/etc.

dirtyrider
    Free Member

same with route maps, no point now with garmin/gpx

letters page? probably write it themselves

free gift – tat

demise of WH Smiths/in a bag at the supermarket no one casually picking up reading and buying

still sponsored by Specialized?

Brant left

Allen keys in issue 1 were alright

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    dannyh
    Free Member

Yes, I often toy with the idea of canceling my subs to MBR. Too much in the pocket of the industry, goes through phases of self-indulgence and only about half of the format changes work. But I don’t, because I like something to read over my cereal in the morning and when on the khazi.

Sometimes only hard copy will do.

andytherocketeer

I’m one of those 11000.
    renewal offer was “not bad”, but went to renew online and it was like £120 for overseas, and no apparent way to renew at the rate offered in the reminder.
    sod that.
    much much cheaper to cancel, and re-sub.
    even cheaper still to cancel, and not resub.