Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Mavic UST hookless rims and Racing Ralphs WTF
  • Dekerfer
    Free Member

OK, so this is my first attempt at tubeless and maybe I have just chosen the Devil’s combo?

I have some new 2021 Mavic Crossmax hookless rims and a Racing Ralph EVO tyre. Using Stan’s tubeless valves.

Having watched many vids I thought I’d see if the tyre will seat without tubeless liquid inside.

No chance, the bead on each side just sits in the trough in the middle of the rim.

I have tried to pull the bead across so it sits next to the rim but it is hard work and the bead will slip back on the tubeless tape.

There is a clearly no way that an even vaguely airtight seal is being created and so I am having a pause to consider the next approach. The most obvious next step seems to be to add Stan’s tubeless solution but I suspect I am simply going to have the same issue of the bead not being near the rim, but complicated by everything being covered in white gloop.

Apologies for the sounding off but does anyone have first-hand experience of how to make a Mavic UST hookless rim form a seal with a tyre (its basic job!).

Thanks in advance for any help.

frogstomp

Are you using a tubeless pump / compressor to get the necessary boost of air?

Fit the tyres with an inner tube first to get them to seat and then unseat one bead to remove the tube. If they are new tyres it’s worth doing this and leaving them over night to give the bead time to reshape from when it was folded up.

teethgrinder

Tried washing up liquid? I use it diluted down.

Only rims I have ever had tubeless issues with were Mavic 819’s. They have a solid bed, rather than tape, but they were a right PITA

bigginge

What are you using to inflate the tire?