Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Maintenance for a rookie…
  • bradley
    Free Member

As you may or may not have read my previous thread, but i’m new to MTB and just wondering what sort of maintenance/cleaning I need to be doing to my bike and at what intervals, like how many miles average or what sorta riding i’m doing, etc…

Thanks, Brad.

portlyone

When I first started off I cleaned everything religiously. Now I just brush off the dried mud and make sure the drive train is clean/lubed.

jimc101
    Free Member

Really hard question to answer, if you bike is clean, you will be able to pick up any issue as or before they happen.

Areas to keep clean chain / gears and the stanchions / seals on your forks & rear shock if you have one.

Anything else isn’t going to worry too much about being dirty.

For servicing, depending on your forks, they either have a schedule like Fox, go on for ever with out being touched like old Marzocchi, or are disposable like most OEM Suntours with other brands being somewhere in the middle of this, for everthing else on the bike, like gears, wheels etc, if it feels wrong, loose etc, then it probably needs some work / service on it.

bradley
    Free Member

Sorry for my very novice knowledge but what is a stanchion? And should I be chain lubing regularly? What things should I use to clean my chain & gears, tooth brush, stiff washing up brush and water then re-lubing the chain or?

daftvader
    Free Member

A maintenance book may be useful… Park big blue book or (my favorite) zinn and the art of mountain bike maintenance. Goes from basic setup to full service for novice and up….

Junkyard
    Free Member

stanchions are the part of the fork that move into the leg some lube them some clean them some ignore them

Re bike really depends on you
    I use full outer cables and clean and lube the chain if i remember

professor_fate
    Free Member