Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • MacBook Recommendations
  • jamj1974

There are many Mac users on here so i am looking for some advice. I would like to buy my first MacBook. I want one as I believe they are less prone to issues than Windows machines and I need something more reliable and easier to maintain than they have been. As you probably have guessed I am not technically minded at all when it comes to hardware or OS. I will be using it to run normal office productivity apps e.g. MS Office for Mac and perhaps creative applications for simple graphic design, straightforward video editing etc… It will be initially be the main machine for my business (Consultancy) and so it needs to be both easily portable but also very usable in terms of keyboard and screen size.

Recommendations please from those in the know. Mac-haters, or suggestions for Windows machines would not be helpful at this time.

Thanks,

J

timc
    Free Member

I have a 15″ Mac Book Pro, I use it for both work & personal.

I find I don’t need such a large screen & the weight is annoying when on the move, Think id have a 13″ Macbook air if I bought again!

kiwijohn

Do you need a cd drive = standard macbook.
    Do you want a hi def screen = Retina macbook.
    Do you want the lightest = Macbook air.

MrSmith
    Free Member

15in and preferably the retina one if you want to do much video, the graphics cards(there’s 2 of them) are faster on the 15in.
    The retina display is stunning and I will not be going back to a normal laptop screen.
    There are new models with a speed bump and slightly better battery life being announced any day now but that means you can get a refurb for a very good price that isn’t actually a refurb just old inventory. I bought a 2.6 with 512gb 16gb ram for £1530 (ex vat) last week that is only .1ghz slower than a current 2.7ghz model and saved £300 it weighs the same as my old 13in, the non-retina 15 feels chunky and heavy in comparison.