Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • LVT and underfloor heating?
  • ac505
    Free Member

We are currently renovating our kitchen and are planning underfloor heating due to lack of wall space for rads. Joists are in, trays for underfloor heating going in over then next few days, OSB (I think) will be going on top of the wet heating.

I need to make a decision pretty soon on flooring, initial plan was to put an engineered oak board down, but then we thought something like Karndean or Amtico may be more robust. Our builder has suggested that Amtico can become very creaky with underfloor heating, I have no experience of whether this is generally the case or not. So question to the group, is LVT a good/bad idea with underfloor heating, would I be better with wood or better again with a ceramic tile? I know the LVT and engineered board are limited to 27c, so a consideration also.

thanks.

Blazin-saddles
    Free Member

As long as a high temp adhesive is used and the floor is prepped properly the LVT shouldn’t move anywhere once glued down.
    Tile is the most hard wearing and best for underfloor heating IMO as it acts like a big thermal store, after that LVT and last, engineered timber as if anything it’s a slight insulator.

Tom83

I’ve not heard of Amtico becoming creaky before. As Mr Saddles said, using the correct adhesive you shouldn’t have any problems.

I’d lean towards tiles or lvt with ufh, over wood, personally.

nickewen
    Free Member

Whatever you do, do not get the LVT click stuff.. I’ve just dealt with the environmental disaster of disposing of 60sqm of the utter shit that had only been down just over 2 years. I reckon over half of the joins had failed in the high traffic areas leading to it coming apart, corners snapping, lifting, etc. We’ve had to dismantle half the kitchen to get the new flooring down. Never ever again.

Blazin-saddles
    Free Member