Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Loosening ahead stem daily for storage reasons ..any thread fatigue issues?
  • kaiser
    Free Member

I was asked by someone (who wanted to keep their bike in a small flat) whether daily loosening of the ahead stem bolts in order to turn the bars would be ok (from a safety point of view) Not being an engineer I was unable to answer but suspected it might eventually fatigue the bolts or internal thread on the stem itself .
    Can anyone give a definitive answer or general advice . I know there are unusual stems designed for this purpose but he doesn’t want to spend money unnecessarily and I presume they are less solid in feel anyhow.
    Many thanks in advance

joshvegas
    Free Member

Would taking the front wheel off and turning the bars not be easier?

jkomo

Better off taking the front wheel out. Even if they use a torque wrench it’s going to be a bad idea I’d have thought. It’s only a matter of time before something bad happens.

joepud
    Free Member

Would taking the front wheel off and turning the bars not be easier?

Exactly what I do. Why mess with more bolts and ensure the bars are straight when you can just pull the wheel out.

simondbarnes

What the others said

zippykona
    kaiser
    Free Member

Should have said …he has full length mudguards

andy4d

Can’t believe I never thought about removing the wheel 🙄, anyway, I have been loosening the stem bolts for over 3 years on the bike I keep inside and it’s been fine so far…..might start removing the wheel now

kaiser
    Free Member

That looks very nice Zippy but he has very limited funds hence the question .

kaiser
    Free Member

Sounds promising Andy ..unless you’ve been lucky!

bigyan
    Free Member

I normally see more issues with the hex wallowed out on bike fittings that customers constantly tighten/slacken. Decent allen keys, sensible torque and ensuring the hex bit is straight and seated fully go a long way.