Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 111 total)
  • Log burning stove- ideas
  • hora
    Free Member

Basically is it possible to convert a fireplace cheapily, are ‘cheaper’ stoves a false-economy (don’t last) etc.

How much should I budget?

I’m starting this from a total newbie-perspective.

SaxonRider

I will watch this with interest, as I have a very nice stove in my main room, but am considering a second for the front room – but as it would be used a good deal less, need not be as nice as the stove in the main.

mrmonkfinger
    Free Member

Depends on how much you’re going to diy and what needs doing to the existing Chimney.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    mattsccm
    Free Member

Yes it is but you will get shouted down by those who want a “professional” job. Done half a dozen for myself and the family have done even more.
    Depends on how cheap you want. Machine Mart stoves work fine. I would guess that in 25 years time they might not but doubt they have been around that long. I do suspect that if you need a big one quality may be more important.
    Much easier in an old house though.

hora
    Free Member

Noted on machinemart- ta.

I can do alot of the work myself. The only bits I can’t do is lining the chimney? and re plastering around.

Teetosugars
    Free Member

We where quoted £1500 all in to have a log burner installed. That included the flu, hearth etc.

globalti
    Free Member

When you re-plaster:

1 – Use a heatproof plaster and paint in the fireplace behind the stove or it will crack like hell.

2 – Chip off the plaster for a good distance (a metre or more) around the fireplace before making good because if you don’t, the expansion of the new plaster around the hot stove will cause stress cracks to appear all along the join between old and new plaster. Guess how I know this?

hora
    Free Member

Ah! Cheers 🙂