Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Llangollen Riding – novice level
  • slowjo
    Free Member

I’m going to be in Llangollen (with family) for a couple of weeks. I will have a bike but my riding opportunities will mainly be limited to shepherding a total novice around (think one step up from complete beginner). Apart from the canal tow path, any suggestions where we might usefully ride?

On another note, the last few times I visited, I have been sussing out the (road) climb from the Australia (Trevor) up via Pen y Gaer Rd to Panorama. It looks like a monster to me. Is it do-able or am I kidding myself?

ninenailspete
    Free Member

Take a look at Nercwys forest – it’s a shared-use trail not too far from Llangollen that sounds like it could be perfect. A bit further afield is the Alwen lake trail, which is also pretty good. Other than that, there’s also a short green route at Llandegla.

Any help?

slowjo
    Free Member

Brilliant! Thanks very much.

crapknees
    Free Member

The climb from the Aussie Rooster pub is pretty steep in parts, and not much fun itself but it does get you pretty sharpish up to the riding around the panorama. Whichever way you look at it though the climbing’s pretty harsh out of the town up to the good bits.

Not sure how well you know the panorama but I’d get up to the top of worlds end road, leave the woods, turn right, climb up around worlds end, and take your pick from what you can see. Most of its cheeky, but no one has ever raised an objection to us riding there. Just don’t ride Offa’s Dyke Path.

slowjo
    Free Member

So it is do-able then. The bit by the chapel looks more than a little daunting. Last time I tried, I had been riding for 8 hours already and failed dismally. I have always fancied a bash at it ‘fresh’.