Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Leave of Absence to go biking.
  • Ambrose

I'm a science teacher so I have set holiday dates. I have no complaints about this whatsoever.

Unfortunately the Pass'Portes du Soleil event is not during my holiday time. I can however apply for leave of absence, but I need to write to the school governors requesting leave of absence.

So- any suggestions as to how to make it a good letter? I don't want to appear too ingratiating!

tails
    Free Member

can i just say your gonna get torn apart by the STW vultures and rightly so 😉

bigG
    Free Member

Go and get a proper job, beardy sports jacket wearing layabout.

I'd suggest starting the letter with the line "sorry to wake you, can I be excused classes because I want to go and ride my bike with the other boys"

Ambrose

I know. It is UNPAID leave I'm requesting though. And I'm fundraising for DEC and RNLI.

TheSouthernYeti
    Free Member

Maybe you could just tell them you're snowed in?

Ambrose

I almost was yesterday 🙂

bigG
    Free Member

Just in case the humour police swing by, the above was mostly Tongue in cheek. I actually have a lot of respect for sports jackets.

I'd suggest you're up front and honest with them, mention it being the dream of a lifetime and something you need to do whilst still able. Surely there's some science related experiment you can combine with it? Get the education board and governors seeing it as an opportunity rather than a problem of how to fill your vacancy?

If it's around the same time as school budget review the head might be grateful of a way to temporarily reduce the salary cost?

bruk

Have a good idea and proof of level of money raised, possibly some way of linking your experience into your teaching and emphasise the hardness of the 'expedition'

Don't say, it'll be great fun and I'm only raising money as an excuse so I can skive off school.