Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Learning to ski alone – can you join any old group or must you pay ££ for 1-1?
  • jhw
    Free Member

My gf is learning to ski this winter. She's the only beginner in the group. I've looked into one on one tuition for her but it's extremely expensive. Are there any other options – namely, can she just join a larger group of strangers, and pay the lower group price? Alternatively, can I share a lesson with her? I'm an intermediate, so I don't know if it would be appropriate for me to share a lesson with a complete beginner. Also, how many hours' tuition do you think she will need in a week? More/less than 8?

bluebird
    Free Member

If you're near a snowdome, get some lessons for her before you go. If you she can manage an hour lesson every 2-3 weeks between now and then you'll be surprised how much of a head start it'll give her. And will almost certainly cost less than private lessons.

surfer
    Free Member

She can just join a group and my wife likes to ski in a formal group as she is a bit nervous particulaly if its a resort we havent visited before.
    She often joins me in the afternoon and we ski together then. I like skiing alone in the mornings.
    It may be Austria where the lessons are all day, in France they are just in the morning typically.

foxyrider
    Free Member

Just join in a beginner group – you can sort it out at the ski centre when you get there 🙂

marsdenman
    Free Member

IME the 1-2-1 stuff is well worth the money – I've only been on planks twice – 2 long weekends.
    Both times I was the newbie, traveling with experienced skiers.
    In the morning i did 1-2-1 sessions (2hrs a session) meeting up with the experienced folks in the afternoon.

The experienced folk could not believe how well i'd taken too it and so quickly (don't get me wrong, i'm no expert – still only just sorting out linking parallel turns)