Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Learning to play chess.
  • lotto
    Free Member

As per title I’d like to learn so I can teach my son. I’ve looked for a local chess club locally but nothing exists. I’ve sourced a book at the library on how to get started. Could anybody recommend an app for an ipad that would be good for a complete beginner to learn or any other method which may be good to learn with.

howsyourdad1
    Free Member

a great app exists , the app is called chess. It’s brilliant for chess.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Horsie to King Bish Three

howsyourdad1
    Free Member

as an aside, when I learnt chess I found it fascinating that so many phrases and words we use come from it. Endgame, rank and file, flank , opening gambit etc. That and horsie takes the prawn

Jakester
    Free Member

My son’s primary school has a chess club.

It’s so successful he’s actually taught me how to play chess, a skill which until now had eluded me.

Might be worth checking?

jekkyl

don’t forget the traditional ending from when you played with a sibling as a child. It’s important to maintain tradtions.

funkmasterp

Chess, the poor man’s drafts.

King me! 😉

In all seriousness something like this should be good. I learned from a book when I first played. I’m still crap at it.

Chess book

martinhutch

don’t forget the traditional ending from when you played with a sibling as a child.

Chucking the board and a big fight?

Ro5ey
    Free Member

As with most things…. if you want to learn how to do something …… watch Youtube.

Much like yourself I’ve taught myself the basics so I can play/beat/cheat the kids.

And I’ve whiled away many a boring hour in work on here … http://chessok.com/?page_id=359 …. good beginners chess problems

Good Luck

Cougar

Horsie to King Bish Three

Ee’s a sly one.

Cougar

Draughts, the poor man’s Backgammon.

BigButSlimmerBloke
    Free Member