Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Laser eye surgery…?
  • mapu
    Free Member

Hi all, my wife’s planning on having LASIK laser surgery on her eyes at the end of the week. But, she’s starting to wobble! She has me telling her that I’d probably not bother to have it done, her family is completely against it, and then most other people telling her to go for it…and then the Internet horror stories.

Has anyone on here had it done? How was the op and how’s it been since? Side effects? Worth it or not? Any advice or feedback appreciated!

p.s. Since you ask the reason I’d not get it done would be that I’m a professional Yorkshireman and it seems extravagant to me. What an unsupportive ****t of a husband I am.

grim168
    Free Member

Had laser surgery done about 16 years ago. Best thing I ever did. And you save money in the long run 😀

Gilesey
    Free Member

Had wavefront intralase LASIK 4 weeks ago. Amazed at how much improved my eyesight is, better than it ever was with specs or contact lenses. Still early days, another couple of months till they reckon things will be stable enough for a final verdict, but currently better than 20/20.

Side effects as expected, a bit dry and a bit uncomfortable at times, so using artificial tears 2 – 3 times a day. More sensitive to sunlight, and bright lights are a bit haloed but nothing dramatic and already noticing improvements.

No regrets at all, it’s a horrible procedure but over quickly enough and for me the results have been really, really good.

FuzzyWuzzy

Had mine done around 8 years ago, on a cheap deal and was the older more painful method (but apparently less risk of haloing side-effects). Probably the best £750 I’ve ever spent (although if doing it now I’d likely do one eye at a time just in case). My eyes felt crap for a couple of days (supposedly much less painful with LASIK) and the op itself was a bit odd (seeing everything go blurry and a smell like burnt hair – it’s over very quickly though).