Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Landlady died, new landlord = new or amended contract?
  • CaptJon
    Free Member

My landlady died last week, and her son has inherited the property. He phoned me tonight, and has emailed me me his contact details and bank numbers so i can change my standing order. He’s indicated in the email they have no intention of selling the property, or giving me notice, but i should ask for a new contract, right?

Or will an amended one (change of names) do?

(I’m into my fourth year in the flat after signing a 12 month contract)

cb

I’m no expert but I would imagine that anybody inheriting would have to honour your existing contract unless there are specific clauses which contradict that. Seems like an ideal time to extend for another year with a new contract though as it seems both of you want you to stay. That’s what I’d do in your shoes.

andyrm
    Free Member

This exact thing happened to a mate a few weeks back – will ask him what happened with his agreement then update you 🙂

wallop

Is he definitely entitled to it? Just checkin’…

midlifecrashes

Asssuming England/Wales. I assume your original tenancy was an Assured Shorthold Tenancy, this will have rolled over to a Statutory Periodic Tenancy.

New contract? You don’t really need one. If son has inherited that would be implied in normal contract law anyway. A note or addendum to the original could be handy if you need the contract for other purposes though. (do you need to show contract for housing benefit claims, or to prove residency for immigration type queries?)