Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • KMC missing links-tool required?
  • toys192
    Free Member

I’m new to 11 speed, but in 9 and 10 speed I have always been able to assemble and disassemble KMC’s version of quick links by hand. I’ve just bought these 11 speed missing links and the packets says that you have to have the tools, and they are single use.

Really? Are they that different from the 9 and 10 speed ones?

jekkyl

iirc they’ve always said single use, which is utter cobblers. I’ve been using kmc chains for years. If you could only split and join once what is the point in that?
    I’m sure the tool makes it easier but I’ve always been able to split them with my hands and a bit of oomph. Can’t comment on if the 11 speed ones are any different though.

iainc

11 needs the tool to open. I think they are single use as tolerances lower etc as thinner, so reuse can increase chance of it snapping

xyeti
    Free Member

If it’s 11 Speed it’s a once in a lifetime fit, punch it out with a chain extractor and fit the new link.

toys192
    Free Member

11 needs the tool

Arse, is there another quick link in 11 speed for shimano that I can get that is trailside friendly? (IE no tools required)
    I don’t object to the single use thing, but I want to be able to fix it on the trail if necc.

ransos
    Free Member

Arse, is there another quick link in 11 speed for shimano that I can get that is trailside friendly? (IE no tools required)

You can get them off without a tool – bring the chain forward at the missing link on the chainring so it sticks out, then tap it sharply with a rock. Strictly for emergencies, though!

iainc

^^ you don’t need the tool to install them, so for a trailside fix of a broken chain it’s same as usual, chaintool to remove broken link, pop in the quicklink, bang on pedals to snap it in.

bumper
    Free Member

fold the chain into a Z on the big ring and tap them open, no need for a ‘special’ tool

xyeti
    Free Member