Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Kettlebell – advice for a complete beginner
  • rossrobot
    Free Member

Friend of mine recently got hooked by kettlebell training. Raves about the simplicity and mix of toning and CV workout it gives. Have done a fair bit of reading and watched a load of videos and fancy giving it a go.

Looking for tips/advice from others on here that do it. Have seen a few threads talking about kettlebell weight; I think i’ll start at the lighter end – I’m 6′ 4”, fairly fit but very slim and not very strong.

Anyone started purely from a few videos, without first going to a gym/class?
    Anyone tried it and hated it?
    What’s the typical length of a workout and how often do you do it?
    Anyone damaged themselves by throwing themselves into it too quickly?

Thanks in advance.

mactheknife

I first started by going to a class but I found it pretty poor to be honest but that was down to the instructor. I then went to another and it was amazing, apart from the obvious exercises posture and form were taught along with their importance.

I then bought The Ultimate Kettlebell Workout by Randolph. It has different workout routines along with many pages of well explained and photographed explanations. I just workout in the house now with a 16 and 12 Kg bell.

Woody
    Free Member

I have the Ryan Shanahan dvd set (advertised ad nauseum on shopping channels) and it is very very good.

I use a 5kg and 12kg kettlebell which sounds light but isn’t with some of the exercises. Workouts are circa 20 minutes initially, well thought out to work different muscle groups and DVD’s for specific areas if you want to go that way.

I’m about to start the basic 6 week initial course again, having lapsed badly over Christmas.

If you are starting from scratch I would highly recommend it as each workout starts with a warm up and ends with a warm down with full instruction in between.

stevewhyte
    Free Member