Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • Jumping man-made doubles mid-trail technique
  • smatkins1
    Free Member

The more trail centres I ride the more carefully sculpted man-made doubles I seem to encounter mid-trail. I really enjoy these and can clear them cleanly, most of the time.

However, I have very little knowledge of ‘correct jumping technique’ and haven’t been able to find much useful advice online. I wanted to be more confident for when I go back to Les Gets this year and am faced with much bigger jumps.

So STF, educate me on basic (and advanced) jumping technique please.

smatkins1
    Free Member

so body position? What do I do in the transition and off the lip? What do I do in the air?

chiefgrooveguru

Loads here: http://www.leelikesbikes.com/?s=Jumping

Plus a few books of his. Or in person, Jedi is the man to see in England (ukbikeskills).

maxtorque

Go here:

Sea Otter DH video

Scroll to 3:04 in – don’t do that
    Scroll to 3:25 in – do it like that

simples…….. 😉

mikewsmith
    Free Member

where are you based? any good skills coach could sort you out, which trails are you finding the doubles on? I used to find very few.

Jackass123456789
    Free Member

Stay loose on run, naturally centred on bike, as you hit the take off ramp start to shift weight back and pull up on bars s the bike launches into the air, lift your legs up to bring the rear wheel up and the bike level in the air, if hitting a down ramp, spot your landing and point the front of the bike down into the ramp. Keep some bend in your arms and legs ready to take impact of landing and absorb it.

If you want to style your flight do so as you bring your legs up to level the bike out, get it down early, hold the style for as long as you dare and then prepare landing.

1322672_Screen by Jackass123456789, on Flickr

Dsc00474 by Jackass123456789, on Flickr

Euro
    Free Member