• This topic has 48 replies, 26 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by hora.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 49 total)
  • Joining the army as an officer
  • alwillis

Just started the process this week, and wondering if anyone has any experiences of getting through the selection process and of the day to day job at the end (obviously very regiment dependent). The thing I have found hardest about the process so far is getting examples of real people- rather than the same quotes which get wheeled out in all the army literature.

As some background I’m a 22 year old graduate, looking for a career as opposed to a “fill in” job. Keen interest in sport and the outdoors, and a generally outgoing person. My biggest gripe in my current job is the faffing and inefficiency with time and money which some people see as “part of business” but I see as a waste.

Rockhopper
    Free Member

I don’t think you’ll find the Army much different in that respect! The amount of waste I’ve seen is shocking – an example would be at the end of an exercise, we just line up and fire off thousands of blanks (and I do mean thousands) because its easier to do that than to try and book half open boxes back into the armoury. The same goes for pyro, flares etc.

nickjb
    Free Member

My biggest gripe in my current job is the faffing and inefficiency with time and money which some people see as “part of business” but I see as a waste.

I don’t think you’ll find the army (or probably any big business) any better. Time to set up on your own

Macavity
    Free Member

“My biggest gripe in my current job is the faffing and inefficiency with time and money which some people see as “part of business” but I see as a waste.”

…ah sarcasm

willard

Alwillis,

What corps/regiment are you looking to join? Have you had a chance to go on any visits yet?

mrlebowski
    Free Member