Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • job offer
  • trevron73
    Free Member

I have recently been looking for work and have had a 3 stage interview which has led to a job offer? However the offer was made “due to a negative reference point from 1 of your 5 references(who calls 5 former employers??) (also i am a chef we tend to change roles every 2-5 years) we are offering you a 1 month trial instead of a full time position . What do we think ? i have said i am not happy about the temp trail and if it not a full offer i will turn it down. Now the offer has been turned to a full job offer with 3 months probation .
    I feel that to start a new position with such negativity is to start on the wrong foot ? I think they are just looking to fill the role short term ?

Junkyard
    Free Member

irrelevant IMHO as within the first year they can sack you for any reason at all [ not sexism racism etc] so it is irrelevant how long they offer

footflaps

Quite common to offer probation periods now.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    stumpyjon

First two years as I recently found out to my cost, something our mate Dave changed when he got into office. Used to be one year. If were me I’d ignore it and take or leave the job based on other factors.

joolsburger
    Free Member

I’d not bother, who does call 5 references?

McHamish
    Free Member

Compulsory 6 month probation is common in that there London.

trevron73
    Free Member

Standard 3 months probation i can understand that but it was put ” were not gonna offer you a full time position due to a negative reference ,so we will give you a 1 month trial to see if you are the man for the job ‘followed by 3 months probation ?
    Then a U turn when i turned it down ,they are without a chef for the summer ? i reckon i am being used as a filler ?

allthepies
    Free Member

I guess it comes down to whether you want a job or not.