Job hunting

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Job hunting
  • Premier Icon molgrips
    Subscriber

As a contractor I used to take it in my stride – never got settled in one place and always on top of new stuff, everything was recent. Now I’ve been in the same place for over four years my brain’s stagnated and I’m actually feeling nervous about having to go through the routine again… I’m worried that I’ll glaze over in interviews like I do here at work and end up daydreaming about biking.

jojoA1

Wow, I thought I was the only person who worried about that! I feel so de-skilled and stagnant, I can’t even consider doing different work.

However, I reckon if I got the motivation to apply for other jobs, the adrenaline would ensure I paid attention.

Premier Icon molgrips
    Subscriber

I’ve actually gained some good niche skills here, it’s my core skills that have flagged. Got some cramming to do, as the Americans say.

zaskar

My Dad is 59 in the same boat-wants to work-retrain/pcs/new fields.

Just enjoy the new adaptation and learning.

Premier Icon molgrips
    Subscriber

It’s not the new skills, it’s the forgetting the ones that my career is based on.

molgrip – I have an interview tomorrow and am desperately trying to remember what it is I do and what my key skills are. It is only 4 days since my last job FFS.

Please can someone remind me of my core skills and why I am the ideal candidate for Technical Pre-Sales consultant for a software company?

The only thing I can think of is ‘It is what I do and I am danm good at it.’

Spongebob

Why is everything so damn pressurised these days?

Getting an interview is the biggest hurdle – you are 90% of the way there, but the daft trendy business language some people use is really quite irritating. I think they like to feel up to date and want to impress everyone how clever they are – even if nobody knows what the hell they are on about! Too many bullshit management skills development courses etc!