Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Java Scripting Help
  • somouk
    Free Member

Hi All,

I’m no java programmer but have been asked to take a look at something for someone.

I’m trying to figure out how to return a piece of text that is in the source code of a web page as a variable to then be passed in to another section of the page to return a result. The latter section is all done and the results are returning fine if I manually enter the text but need it to come in as a variable.

I want to return the IP address and it is in the source code with the format ‘IP: 192.168.0.1’, I only want the IP though, not the preceding ‘IP:’ label.

Any help greatly received!

allthegear
    Free Member

It’s difficult to tell exactly what you are asking for at the moment. In the title you mention “java scripting” and then in the text you say “java”. Trouble is; they are entirely different things (and a complete arse they have similar names)

Is this script something that runs on the webserver or in the browser on the visitors computer?

Rachel

somouk
    Free Member

Yeah, apologies I wasn’t clearer.

It’s run in the browser as part of a web page.

Essentially, the user will navigate to web page and the page already reads their IP and puts it in to the source code of the html, I just need to read that value back out as a variable to pass in to some other bits.

allthegear
    Free Member

okay – so it’s javascript, then 🙂

Can you point us at the page? I can take a look for you

allthegear
    Free Member

Sometimes, a library like jQuery (jquery.com) can make it easier to write javascript code that is readable.

If your webpage included something like

<div id=“ip-address”>192.168.1.1</div>

then you could have some script like

$( document ).ready(function() {
    var my_ip = $(‘#ip-address’).text();
    alert(my_ip);
    });

or not alert() but do something useful!

(yes this could be done directly in js – I just wanted to make it readable)

Rachel

somouk