Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • Its Getting Nippy! – Your Commuting Autumn/Winter Essentials?
  • v7fmp

Over the last day or two there has been a significant drop in air temp on my commute to work.

With it only going to get colder as we head towards winter, what are your commuting essentials? Ideally share the brand and model, rather than just ‘thermal pants’.

As its my first year as a commuter (e-commuter in fact, so i dont produce half as much body heat as riding a non-assist bike) I am using what MTB gear i have. Fox fire trousers, an older Fox waterproof jacket, 100% hydromatic gloves. Whilst it keeps me warm enough at the moment, i dont think it will all be up to the task or rather needs some support in the coming weeks/months.

Also, shoes, is it worth investing in something like a Shimano MW7 or just spend a few quid on some good waterproof socks?

Anywho.. please share you gear specs, plus any top tips to get through the darkest of winters!

alan1977
    Free Member

similar boat as you
    jsut bought hte mw7 too, will be wearing htem on the MTB and commute
    fire defend for cold days, got endura humveee zip offs for not quite so cold.. currently rocking a light long sleeve jersey and baselayer..
    got a nice dhb hoody which ive found plenty warm enough hte rest of the time, and a dayglo gillet
    i prsonally will need to get some proper gloves i think
    ive got a beany baselayer thing for under the helmet when it gets into low dsingle figures
    not sure how much jacket im goign to need, the dhb hoodie is semie waterproof.. ive got a softshell waterproof packed o nthe bike nad full guards

scaredypants

It’s cold hands for me

hand shields – not really the full-on pogie round my way but the neoprene things on my drop-bar commuter are way better than thick gloves

I’ve bought some of those “MX” hand-guards for the MTB, to see if they break the wind enough

matt_outandabout