Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Is Woburn the best riding near Stevenage?
  • sambino
    Free Member

I’m going to stay with some friends in Stevenage, who have just bought bikes on the cycle to work scheme, and want to take them out and show them a good time. I have no local knowledge as I live in Brighton. Is there anywhere up that way that’s good fun and relatively easy to find your way around unguided? Aston Hill looks a bit downhilly for the relative beginners, so Woburn seems like a good choice.

crotchrocket
    Free Member

Chicksands – usually enough to give n00bs a taste & considerable closer. As is:
    Broxbourne and
    1000 miles of bridleways between Stevenage and Luton – http://tinyurl.com/7cjtbkg

plus there is a few little play areas just south of stevenage nr. Mardley Heath,

Depends what you want to take them too.

bigbloke
    Free Member

Second Chicksands for beginners.

lucien

1000 miles of bridleways between Stevenage and Luton.

Just checked the map – really? Are you sure?

sambino
    Free Member

They are both quite fit and adventurous so I’m not too worried about scaring them off, and I’d like to have a good days riding as well. Chicksands might be a good option. Cheers

crotchrocket
    Free Member

Just checked the map – really? Are you sure?

yup.
    Been riding them for 7yrs+. They reach all the way to St Albans. Trust me, they are there. there are even a few good climbs, one good decent.
    TBH I’d only venture out there once the trails are dry – it’s all a bit shit in the wet

crotchrocket
    Free Member

Sambino> if you want a guided ride you can hook up with:
    sillygrin.co.uk – see where they are riding, you might get techie or XC, woburn, chicky, broxbourne or something else (n00b xc up to ‘playing in bikeparks’)
    cyclone bike club in woburn for XC (‘n00b plus’)
    OTT for bridleways north of St Albans (‘n00b’ level).