Is this powertool up to the job? (Black and Decker Scorpion)

Home Forum Chat Forum Is this powertool up to the job? (Black and Decker Scorpion)

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Is this powertool up to the job? (Black and Decker Scorpion)
  • scud

Having just moved from a flat in Surrey, to a house in the sticks in Norfolk (where my wife comes from and always wanted to move back to), i am new to having a garden/ allotment/ wood stove, so am slowly collecting tools and learning new skills as the jobs need doing.

I got 1/2 ton of firewood from in-laws farm which is great but there wood burner is twice the size of ours, so although it is split, the wood is too long and needs to be halved in length, in addition I need to replace some fence that has come down in the recent high winds and build some raised beds in garden, so it needs to tackle cutting fence posts etc

Essentially for a saw to do the hard work (on a limited budget) and was looking at this, any ideas, comments or better suggestions, reviews of it seem to vary from “it is brilliant” to “couldn’t cut its way out of a paper bag”?, i bow to the superior knowledge of STW and those a lot more practical than me.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Black-Decker-KS890EK-Scorpion-Powered/dp/B00074ETBK/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=AJSZ8CA4C7X6&coliid=I2H1WSN0E2H2XD

highclimber

If you intend on doing loads of cutting and it’s not too thick I’d spend a bit more and get a mitre chop saw.

trail_rat

Can get a cut off saw or a sliding chop saw for 99 quid . Will last much longer than that.

I doubt that thing was designed to do more than the average 12 minutes average diy joe does.

choppersquad

I’ve got one and it struggles to chop the bottom of my Christmas tree off. Bit of a gimmick really.

Premier Icon thv3
    Subscriber

Not got one but used one recently on loan, wasn’t impressed and wouldn’t bother. In my view it was a beefed up kitchen knife.

scud