Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Is this 29er (Voodoo Bizango) too big for me?
  • superdon
    Free Member

Hello all, after some advice please.

I am a newbie and bought a 18inch Voodoo Bizango as it had great reviews. For various reasons I couldn’t try it for size, but the size guides all suggested it would be fine. I am ..5 foot 8.5 and have a 30 inch inside leg.

The problem I have is, the standover height. My undercarriage is resting on the top bar. So I don’t really have clearance.

Here’s a couple of pics. Not ideal because I am wearing baggy joggers as I am recovering from an operation.

This one, is as the above but I also moved the saddle up about an inch…..

This one shows the max that I can lift the front of the bike with me stood over it touching my crotch bone (wheel was about 2 inches above ground)…

On all pics the suspension fork is locked. I am also holding the wall with my left hand which skews things a little.

When I am on the bike it feels good. What do you think? I have asked on other forums and I am getting various opinions, so thought I would open it out.

If you feel the bike isn’t suitable can you suggest any alternatives I could try from halfords. Unfortunately it has to be halfords. I also would need it to be the same price or cheaper.

Cheers

somouk
    Free Member

Looks okay to me.

nbt

I’d say you should have gone for the smaller size, sadly. I’m 5’9″ with a 32″ inseam and although I can fit on and ride an 18″ on-one scandal, I prefer the 16″ frame. If you have the option to change you may find it worth doing so. Having said that, it doesn;t look *massively* too big so staying with it could be an option

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    kimbers

Id say that was fine

its more important that the reach – from saddle to handle bars is right and your looks fine

superdon
    Free Member