Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Is there, or will there be, an infinite amount of memory on the internet?
  • Give me a chance here, I’m a layman with a limited understanding of how the internet works.

On a small scale, STW forum doesn’t host pictures because that would use up a lot of memory which they would have to pay for, so all pictures on this forum are hosted elsewhere and linked to or embedded.
    Even so, old threads don’t get deleted, so STW must be buying more memory to keep them forever, even if text does use a lot less memory than pictures.

On a much bigger scale, Facebook doesn’t delete old stuff to make way for the new stuff, it’s all there, text and pictures, for ever.
    Presumably other similar sites like Twitter and Instagram do the same.
    What about Google with their cache of every page on the web?
    Is it all backed up or mirrored on more than one location, actually doubling the amount of memory needed?

So, are all these big companies constantly adding more and more memory?
    How big is it? Both in a computer sense, how many Gigabites, and a physical sense, how big a building does it need?
    Will they just keep on adding more memory in bigger buildings with bigger power supplies for ever, or are they relying on future technology to allow them to store information at the atomic scale, so it will all fit in one small box?

Stoner
    Free Member

Not quite the answer to your question, but this makes for an interesting read on a related subject:
    https://what-if.xkcd.com/31/

brant
    Free Member

One small box

[video]http://youtu.be/iDbyYGrswtg[/video]

weeksy

So, are all these big companies constantly adding more and more memory?
    How big is it? Both in a computer sense, how many Gigabites, and a physical sense, how big a building does it need?

Yes.

Massive. We have hosting centres the size of aircraft hangers stacked with boxes upon boxes.

How many GB, it’s a figure that’s incomprehensible