Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 133 total)
  • Is it time to leave the UK?
  • muckytee
    Free Member

So I work as a bus mechanic and with everything that’s going on it the future looks bleak, I see costs going up, public services deteriorating and standards dropping.

With the job I do I can leave, I don’t want to; I love this country, currently living in Cornwall and it’s lush (when SW water aren’t filling the beaches with shit that is).

Is the grass greener? I hear of a right wing government coming into power in Sweden for example, inflation is happening the world over. I’ve fancied New Zealand but don’t know how the situation compares.

Fundamentally I go to work to earn money, but when that money disappears very quickly on basics like food and heat and when you become ill medical treatment is a waiting list and the Police aren’t much of a ‘force’ these days , burgled – good luck with that and that’s just the surface. You start to question what’s the point.

Maybe things need to hit the bottom before they bounce back I don’t know, will things get better, because currently they feel very much worse.

tjagain

If i didnt have aging parents in Scotland I would have gone years ago

Netherlands or France would ne my choice

longdog
    Free Member

I think that despite the state of the country we’re generally still a pretty well off and safe place to live compared to most places.

Also, I don’t know if you have family, but people I know who’ve moved to Oz and NZ are enjoying life there, but can’t afford to come back to visit family and family here can afford to go and visit them.

intheborders
    Free Member

Yes, it is the time for Scotland to leave the UK.

fazzini

I’ve fancied New Zealand but don’t know how the situation compares.