Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • Introduction to Squash
  • spooky_b329

I’m thinking of trying something new…like the look of Squash and there is a local club who can coach/provide opponents etc.

I’m completely new to it, don’t play any sports…is Squash something I can get into or would I be better off starting with another racquet type discipline that would perhaps be easier to pick up?

sobriety
    Free Member

Squash is awesome.

It will hurt though. It’s probably the easiest racquet sport to pick up, but very hard to master.

chewkw
    Free Member

I love Squash as I am too heavy to play badminton 😆

You will cry if you try badminton.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

It will hurt though. It’s probably the easiest racquet sport to pick up, but very hard to master.

Hear, hear!

mikey74
    Free Member

As above: Squash is easy to pick up but difficult to master. I use to play it a lot and part of the leagues at my local club.

Don’t start off trying to play a game, just get use to the equipment and the rules first, by having a casual knock-up with someone who knows the game.

Oh, and start trying to improve your flexibility, especially lunges. Shuttle runs are a good warm-up.

SnS
    Free Member

Depends what you want to get out of it.

I fancied having a go, but didn’t have squash bats or know the rules …last time I tried was 30 years ago…and I was pretty rubbish .
    But, I didn’t approach it as a competitive sport, I looked at it as a fun way to spend the best part of an hour with the added secondary benefit of getting some intensive exercise in the process.

Roll forward 30 years & I’ve just started the same process again with the better half. As the weeks progress, we’re picking up the rules and getting better. I’m still awesomely crap and even now, I’ve no idea of the correct way to play and don’t own my own kit, but it’s a real enjoyable way to get some exercise and have some fun.

Chris

brakes
    Free Member