Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Inserts- Nukeproof VS Rimpact
  • sharkattack

I split a front tyre open yesterday right at the bead when I rimmed out on a rock so I’m sitting at work looking at inserts. I’ve never used them before.

Cushcore seem very expensive and they’re out of stock at the obvious retailers (I haven’t searched very far because of the price).

I’m mostly considering a pair of Nukeproof ARD’s for a very reasonable £47.99
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/nukeproof-horizon-advanced-rim-defence-ard-pair/rp-prod172999

Or a pair of Rimpacts. Either Pro’s or a mixed set of Pro and Original for £62.99
    http://www.rimpactmtb.com/product-page/rimpact-pro-original-mix-with-valves

They both have mostly positive reviews but has anyone been riding them long term and had any good or bad experiences?

tabletop2
    Free Member

I have th tbe nukeproof ones and they are ok. They stretch after time and then you need to shorten and cable tie back together. I would say that they are exclusively for rim protection whereas the rimpacts offer more of a dampened trail ‘feel’ to them.

Basically they work fine and I’m not going to swap them out but have lots of friends using the rimpacts and they seem a better overall package and I’d pay the extra

militantmandy
    Free Member

I’ve had good success with Rimpact. They do absorb some sealant though. As above, my Ards swole to the point they were no longer tight to rim and then rattled. Don’t think I’d get them again. Cushcore are excellent, but crazy money now.

rsl1
    Free Member

I have nukeproof. Couldn’t find anything cheaper. Has done the job for nearly 2 years now. They have always rattled for me but at the price I don’t mind. I do run unfashionably high pressure though

steveh

what size do you need fella? I’ve got 29 rimpact and only need one.

toofarwest

I’ve just fitted a Vittoria air liner to the rear wheel £39 from CRC

sharkattack