I'm stuck… You choose.

Home Forum Bike Forum I'm stuck… You choose.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • I'm stuck… You choose.
  • Normy

Right. Basically. I’m getting an AM bike. My background is DH so I have to go for something that can cope with me going a bit off course on the downs so ruled out the likes of a cheap giant trance (I’m on a bit of a budget). I’m gonna have to finance it as low on cash having just bought a house.

Soooo…. I’ve narrowed it down to two, ridden both, can’t decide. Both are litterally as good as each other.

Either a zesty 214

Or

Norco sight SE 3

Both are really good bikes from what I’ve seen.
    And about the same price – lapierre is a bit more

What’s the general opinion here?

Can’t help
    But feel the lapierre a lot of the money goes on the name and a bit of paint whereas the norco it goes a bit more on the spec?

sambob

Norco’s probably a bit more sturdy.

Normy

Oh and I need a small as I’m only 5’9” . So I can’t get a higher spec last year model for cheaper as they’re all massive!!!!

Normy

Sambob…. Exactly what I’m thinking. It looks and feels a bit like that too

Premier Icon tmb467
    Subscriber

If they feel the same and you can’t make your mind up then go with either the cheapest / one you’ll spend least on or the one you like the look of best

Doubt you’ll come up against anything that will wreck either bike…lapierre seems to have 150mm up front rather than 140, and suspension seems better overall than norco. Personally I’d go for the norco cos its cheaper and I prefer how it looks.

Dunno whether one is more sturdy than the other tho…got mates on 314 and 514 lapierres who love em…norco might be seen as more niche mebbe….

Normy

I’ve also got a mate with a 314 so was the reason I’ve been drawn towards it so much but yeah the norco always seems like it should be better… But can’t work out why haha! It is edging in the norcos favour at the moment,