• This topic has 41 replies, 35 voices, and was last updated 5 years ago by ahsat.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • I’m a Doctor!!!!
  • Daffy

Finally, after 6.5years of part-time, self supported study (along with the birth of two kids) I have finished my Ph.D!

Thank goodness it’s over – I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone thinking of trying it.

full-time job + kids + Post graduate research does not = happiness.

When asked by my examiners “how I felt? Elated?Excited? Relieved?”  All I could think was – tired…

Cheers,

Dr. Daffy 🤓

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Dr Who?

qwerty
    Free Member

Dr of what?

Daffy

I WISH I was Dr. Who.  I could go back in time and tell myself not to do it.  Dr of Engineering.

perchypanther
    Free Member

What’s up?

tonyg2003

PhD Doctorate of Philosophy

Congrats it’s often a qualification in perseverance!

wwaswas

When asked by my examiners “how I felt? Elated?Excited? Relieved?” All I could think was

Philosophical?

PhD Doctorate of Philosophy

onehundredthidiot

Well done of 5 of us that started 2 gave in to the 18month blues, 1 died in a car crash and 1 found out that he had transposed two variables in a complex equation at the start of his work and the following 34months were based on that, he walked away.

Dr 100thidiot (organic chem, specifically photochromic spirooxazines and their merocyanine forms)

SaxonRider

Well done!

Now, I don’t know what you plan for yourself post-doc, but if it is remotely academic, you’ll find the relief short-lived, because the work never really ends.

That said, the joy of achievement is much longer term.

Dr SR (research fellow who hasn’t stopped writing even though he’s got a full time job and kids)

surroundedbyhills
    Free Member

Congratulations – now what can you give me for this rash?

ahsat