• This topic has 42 replies, 31 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by grum.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • I need to drive to Barcelona. Any tips?
  • sharkattack

This time next week we’ll be disembarking the ferry in Calais and heading to a campsite in Barcelona. I know loads of people here know their way around France. I’ve never done it top to bottom before in one go we’ve usually meandered about.

But, Barcelona is the starting point for the annual mission and we just want to get there as quickly and easily as possible. I’m the only driver. I’m not looking forward to it to honest. I won’t be able to relax until we’ve got the tent up in Barca and I crack open an Estrella.

I can see some of these being purchased around Friday lunch time,

richmtb

Once you get to Spain don’t bother using your indicators at roundabouts, that way you will fit right in

thomthumb
    Free Member

get off the motorway and stop for a lunch not in a services: sandwhich from a boulongerie in a square/ park. much more restful than services and allows you to break the day up a bit.

avoid paris
    avoid energy drinks.

johndoh
    Free Member

When you get there have a night out at the Bagdhad Club.

😯

Trustyrusty
    Free Member

Get the ferry to Santander instead?

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

Dunno if I’d drive that far in one day tbh, pretty sure that’s too much for someone who does it for a living ie lorry drivers with tacometers?.

Have an overnight stop?.

annebr
    Free Member

via Michelin is a good place to start for routes

MTB-Idle
    Free Member

I drove solo to the Pyrenees last year (well, MTB-idle junior was in the passenger seat but too young to drive in Europe).

Did it in one stint, just stopping for petrol, it’s tough. There was one section of about 80km where i only saw two other cars.