Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • I need a new splitting maul. Any recommendations?
  • FeeFoo
    Free Member

I’ve been using this for the last three years but now the head has broken off. I liked it but was surprised it didn’t last that long – it has had some abuse.

Drac

One of those had mine for about 5 years and it’s still going strong.

footflaps

Gransfors Bruks Splitting Maul

bigshep
    Free Member

Ditto.
    For the money it’s great IMO.
    Had one for around 5 years also.

Edit: The Roughneck one that is!

wysiwyg
    Free Member

Aldi special?

trail_rat
    Free Member

Im using a bnq special splitting maul . FIbreglass handle. Cost about 19 quid.

3 years in looks fine.

Aldi doing splitting maul on their specials today for 12.99

Screwfix doing forge steel fibreglass mauls for about 12 quid also.

Id put 50 p on them all being the same axe.

Toolstop will supply you with a bahco one for 45 quid – again probably the same axe but painted orange and grey – making it infinately better 🙂

Drac

Mine came from screwfix it is the roughneck one and yeah cost about £12. So after 5 years it goes tomorrow I’ll order another.

FeeFoo
    Free Member

That Granfors Bruks maul looks lovely. It’s up for £100 on Amazon though. Hmmm style or thrift?

kcal

Have a wood (hickory) shafted one, not sure of the make and it’s pissing down outside so I can’t be bothered to have a look. 6.5 lbs. Has lasted 3-4 years with minor scuffs where I was cack-handed.. Looks fine, decent weight…

It was about £35, local DIY store were running a promotional deal that made it cheaper to buy than the fibre glass model one down. Ended up being under £30.

Think it’s this one or similar – (looks like the Faithfull one too) http://www.sibbons.co.uk/product/4028/268/6_5lb_hickory_shaft_log_split_maul

trail_rat
    Free Member

Style of course …… Lassies will be throwing them selves at you if you have a gransfors bucks.