• This topic has 45 replies, 17 voices, and was last updated 3 years ago by igm.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 46 total)
  • Hydraulic brake woes
  • Bushwacked
    Free Member

I’ve been using Magura MT5’s for a few years now and love them, however in the last year I’ve found that every 2-3 months the brakes suddenly lose their power and start to pull closer to the bars before engaging. This usually means they need a bleed so, out comes the bleed kit and off we go.

However last time this happened the fluid was clear. On todays ride the brakes have gone so I need to bleed but it’s only 3 months since I did it last time.

Could this be the hose has failed? It does have a kink in it and looks worn so might be letting air in.

Anyone got any ideas?

paton
    Free Member

Are the pads too worn?
    Is there any obvious oil leaks?

Do the levers have Pressure Point adjustment?
    see page 20
    https://www.magura.com/media/922405/mt_2017_en.pdf

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    thols2

It does have a kink in it and looks worn so might be letting air in.

It would leak fluid if it had a hole.

It sounds to me like you just need to reset the pistons rather than to bleed the brakes every few months.

Bushwacked
    Free Member

Thanks for the input. Good to get more thoughts on this as I’m not sure what is happening.

Pads are new and hardly worn. I can’t see any noticeable fluid leak.

When you say “reset the pistons” you mean just push them back into the caliper housing and pump them a few times to let them settle?

Bushwacked
    Free Member

Having a think about it – I’m wondering if the bleed screw is worn and letting air in – this might be the weak link in the system

thols2

When you say “reset the pistons” you mean just push them back into the caliper housing and pump them a few times to let them settle?