Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Hubble Bubble – too much trouble
  • pb2

First the caveats, this is about a tubeless sealing problem, second, I have been messing around with tubeless set ups since 2004/5 when I imported a load of Stans sealant, theoretically I should have the answers to any tubeless problem but I don’t.
    I have a brand new set of Hunts Trail Wide wheels, tyres are brand new Maxxis Minnion DHR 2s, with foam inserts and a good dose of Stan’s.

Here’s the issue, the front wheel leaks at a fastish rate through one spoke, every other area is tightly sealed. The rear wheel leaks through several spoke holes at a slow rate (ie goes flat over night)

In the case of the rear wheel after the first leaks I reinforced the the original Hunts rim tape with three wraps of heavy duty cling film (ghetto tubeless that I have successfully used to convert my fat bike to tubeless) and whilst this reduced the rate of leakage it hasn’t stopped it.

I am struggling to understand why air can come out of spoke but the sealant not reach it to seal it as it did with minor side wall leaks, also if the there is air at a spoke hole then that says the rim tape is compromised so then why then is air not flowing out of multiple spokes ?

If you have ideas please shout up because the Minnions with the foam inserts are very very difficult to remove/fit and I am becoming a tad peeded off by the continued leaks.

PS please “no put some tubes in it and stop the faffing”, I have been riding tubeless for 17 years and have no interest in going back to tubes, thanks Paul B

kayak23

What tape did you tape the rims with?
    Sounds like a poor taping issue to me.

I’ve done countless wheels with two wraps of Tesa tape and never had any issues.

tall_martin

All my MTBs have sealed with gorilla tape.

My gravel wheels front rear has been fine with gorilla tape but the front would only seal with tessla tape.

I’d try a different tape type.

kayak23