Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 49 total)
  • How to survive corporate life?
  • webwonkmtber
    Free Member

How on earth do people do it working for mega corps? So much BS, such awful IT, systems and processes. Such soul crush. Suits, ties, aggrandising bosses.

It’s the first time I’ve ever worked for a mega corp and I am suffering some serious culture shock.

I only need to do six months (contractor), but at the moment six weeks feels daunting.

Please help me – what are your survival tactics? I’m tried to make sure to keep my riding up, but I had two midnight finishes in the past week, so I see that it’s going to be tough.

beej

Not all of them are like that. Find a better one.

onandon
    Free Member

You’re a contractor, go do your job and that’s it. Don’t involve yourself in the games and BS. You aren’t looking for promotion but worth looking around internally to see what else you can pick up, work wise.

I’ve been contracting for 10 years. Some company’s are massive but awesome, some aren’t. However, you’re still getting paid so any obsticals just raise with your manager.

wrecker
    Free Member

Stop caring. Seriously, just do what you’re paid to and be completely disengaged by the whole thing. Asked to do something stupid? Just do it. The shrug is a really great stress relief tool.

martinhutch

What’s worth doing is worth doing for money. If you need a friend, get a dog.

jekkyl

marijuana & cycling.

thestabiliser
    Free Member

Deploy the sit-down piss

martinhutch

Deploy the sit-down piss

Preferably at your desk.

onandon
    Free Member

Then work out how much you’ve earned while pissing.

jamj1974