Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • How much to fit a wood burner/ multi fuel stove?
  • Nibsy
    Free Member

From all the posts on here I know many of you have wood burners or multi fuel stoves so how much is a reasonable price for fitting?

I’ve been told it’s 2 days work as the old coal fire and back boiler need removing, though the back boiler is already disconnected plumbing wise. The old fire place ripped out and new hearth, mantle etc installed.

Been quoted £900 which seems a bit steep to me for 2 days work, especially when they’re already charging £150 more for the stove than most other places and I guess have similar high profits on the mantle, hearth, fittings etc.
    So… how much did you pay or think is reasonable?

wrightyson
    Free Member

I paid 1100 for stove, twin wall flue, internal (black painted flue), register plate, cowling, and labour. Could have done it myself as I’m a builder but I thought id let someone else fanny around on the roof and also the fact id get a nice hetas certificate just in case it burnt the house down!

wrightyson
    Free Member

Oh and is the 900 just for labour, if so yes its v expensive even if based on two men!!!!!

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    Nibsy
    Free Member

£1100 all in, seems £900 for labour only is steep, we’re talking close to £3500 all in for me and it’s not a mega expensive stove like some I’ve seen.

Nibsy
    Free Member

Wish I was on their hourly rate even if it is 2 men.

wrightyson
    Free Member

Individual fitter or company, and where abouts are you. If the midlands I can highly recommend the guy a few of us have used, he also supplies stoves.

Nibsy
    Free Member