Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • How many miles do you have to ride to lose a trouser size?
  • jivehoneyjive
    Free Member

My cousin’s wedding in France is next month and I’ve been trying my rarely used formal trousers on to find they don’t fit.

Being as my van is currently off the road, I’m entertaining the idea of riding the 250ish miles over the course of 3 or 4 days.

Would such an exertion be enough to reduce my waistline sufficiently to fit into trousers that are currently a size too small?

Drac

Depends on how much food you’re eating.

cynic-al
    Free Member

On its own, unlikely.

I am no expert on this at all tho .

Larry_Lamb
    Free Member

martymac

Most efficient way would be to stop eating altogether.

this may not be too practical though.

but I’m sure it’s possible with sensible diet and long steady miles in the fat burning zone.

martymac

Edit: over the course of a month i meant, the 3-4 day ride to france will do very little on its own.

jivehoneyjive
    Free Member

Additional information… I normally dig trails and ride downhill most of the time; on average of late, I’ve probably been riding around 15-20 miles a week.

km79
    Free Member

Restricting your intake and eating clean for three weeks whilst exercising an hour or so most days should do it.

Garry_Lager

What size gut are we talking about? You could prob crash 40 down to 38 in a month but 30 down to 28 would be a different story.

poly
    Free Member

I’m sure one of the crazy size obsessed girls I work with says one dress size (which I guess is a similar issue) requires you to eat 35000 fewer calories.  If you burn 50 calories per mile (which is weight and speed dependant) you’d need to cycle 700 miles without eating any extra food.  So if you get the train to Edinburgh and leave from there you could maybe pull it off!

hols2
    Free Member