Viewing 39 posts - 1 through 39 (of 39 total)
  • How long to wait (novice attempted dating content)?
  • rugbydick

Right, I’m new to all of this dating / meeting new people malarkey, having fairly recently come out of a 9 year relationship.

Here’s the story:
    Went for a works night out on Thursday. Got chatting to one of the girls behind the bar.
    She was about to finish work for the night, so I asked if she’d like to hang around and have a drink with me.
    She hung around. We had a couple of drinks and a chat; and I ended up leaving with her phone number.
    I texted her the following morning, saying “great to meet you, I’d like to see you again, give me a call”.
    So that was Friday, now it’s Monday and no response.

How long do I wait? And once I’ve waited, what do I do? Is there any follow up, or do I write it off as a lost cause?

djglover
    Free Member

lost cause already I reckon

kayak23

Text her again, nothing to lose as I see it. If she’s blowing you off (so to speak) now, then she still will be.

A girl did similar to me several years ago. I texted her again and said, just checking you had my number. She said thanks, yes she did have it… 😥

deadlydarcy
    Free Member

lost cause already I reckon

Yep, afraid so.

djglover
    Free Member

Text her again, nothing to lose as I see it. If she’s blowing you off (so to speak) now, then she still will be.

No harm in looking even more desperate!

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Here’s an idea, why not call her? You know, speak to her on the telephone.

kayak23

No harm in looking even more desperate

One man’s desperate is another man’s keener… 😀

Kryton57

Wait. Otherwise you seem too desparate. In a couple of weeks pop back to the bar, say hi whilst ordering a drink, watch for the recognition but walk off with the booze. If she wants to she’ll initiate the next move. *

* disclaimer – been out of circulation since 1998.

crikey
    Free Member

Yup, CFH has it right.