Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • how do you get used to being punched in the face?
  • sc-xc

I have been kickboxing for about 2 1/2 years, and we are now training with full contact sparring. Do you get used to being lamped round the face and head, hit so hard that you can't stand up? 😐

CaptJon
    Free Member

Don't worry, eventually you'll have so few brain cells you'll not feel it. Try speeding up the process by banging your head against a wall or hit yourself with a rolling pin while watching TV.

Smee
    Free Member

You could try not getting hit.

iDave
    Free Member

try being better and hitting them very hard before they hit you

soobalias
    Free Member

roll with it.

gixer.john
    Free Member

Christ if you are only getting into full contact after that amount of time, they must be a bit slow in the club. Full contact usually starts after a couple of months. The pain of being twatted in the face, ear, lip, ribs, thigh or bollocks never goes away. The only time you don't really notice it is when you are winning a fight.
    Good luck.

sc-xc

we have just changed instructors, the old was was only semi…there's a big difference!

I am fine sparring against people at a similar level, it's the 2nd/3rd dans that are doing me 🙁

skidartist
    Free Member

I'm reminded of that clip Dennis Norden used to show of a bare knuckle boxer who had just won an all day elimination tournament.

Interviewer "What kind of state are you in after twelve consecutive knockout bouts?"
    Boxer "What state? erm, Idaho."

matt_bl
    Free Member

It's things like this that make me realise everyone is different.

I can't imagine getting used to being punched in the face, but I'm quite happy to get kicked up in the air for 90 minutes playing football.

Matt

sc-xc

You're right – after seeing some lads playing football I wouldn't have the bollox to get on the pitch, it's brutal. At least with kickboxing I expect to have to fight.

stonemonkey
    Free Member