Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Hope bottom bracket, gxp adapters
  • sam1988
    Free Member

Have a gxp crankset which I would like to upgrade the bottom bracket on. I’m a big hope ran so instantly looked into these. I found a few reviews on retailers site that people claim they are poor fit and put so much pressure on the bearings?

Sure people on here much be using the above, any real life reviews?

Another option is a uberbike which I’ve ran on my other bike for a few months, that used a plastic adaptor and seems ok

Tracey

Have both the Hope and the Uberbike for GXP and haven’t found a problem with either. Saying that got a couple of SRAM ones that are still going strong after two years years.

orangespyderman

I have been using the Hope ones with GXP for a couple of years on my Jeffsy. Nothing really to say about them, which is a good thing…

r8jimbob88
    Free Member

I’ve got hope BB with GXP adapters. Bearings lasted about 18 months which was much longer than the usual GXP ones.

For the cost of replacement hope bearings I just bought another GXP bottom bracket for significantly cheaper and less hassle.

Unless anyone can tell me how to easily remove the adapters to allow the bearings to be changed…

greyspoke
    Free Member

Unfortunately r8 you need to file/dremel a couple of notches in one of the adapters before you fit it, so you can get a screwdriver in to knock the other one out. So not much use if you have already fitted them. Like I have 🙁 probably with careful work this could be done while they are installed?

They work well, but I think only for Hope BBS as they compress the seal, which is fine for the Hope external seals which are made out of hard plastic, but might not be so good for more rubbery seals. Maybe that is where the negative comments come from, peeps using them on non-Hope BBs.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member